Mitchell and Griffiths take top BICC honours!

Congratulations to Dorset’s Scott Mitchell and Pembrokshire’s Rhian Griffiths, who topped the Men’s and Ladies overall averages with a 38.85 d/ave and a 32.67 d/ave respectively. Mitchell narrowly missed out on top-spot last season, finishing second overall, but an improved base average, coupled with another nine out of nine wins has seen him “tick another achievement off [his] darting bucket list”. Staffordshire’s John Burgess secured second place overall with a 37.84, with Yorkshire’s Glen Durrant and Mark McGeeney taking third and fourth positions. Both Durrant and McGeeney maintained impressive 30+ base averages, winning 7/7 and 6/6 games respectively, giving Durrant a 37.43 d/ave and McGeeney a 36.69 d/ave.

Griffiths, who finished fourth last season, took top honours in the Ladies averages despite losing one game this season, with a 24.67 base average. She narrowly held off England Captain, Oxfordshire’s Deta Hedman, who finished a close second with a 32.60 d/ave. An impressive first full season with Dorset’s A team saw an in-form Samantha Kirton claim third place overall, winning nine out of nine games with a 32.43 d/ave, over 10 times World Champion, Trina Gulliver, who finished fourth for Lincolnshire, with a 32.17 d/ave.

Yorkshire’s Ady Newsholme topped the Men’s B average table, finishing the season with an impressive 35.60 d/ave and nine wins from nine. Andrew Kateley from Essex finished the season in second place with a 35.12 d/ave – almost 1.5 points above third placed Robert Smith from the West Midlands, who achieved a 33.67 d/ave. 

Donna Rainsley took the honours for Sussex in the Ladies B, maintaining 100%-win record and a 29.06 d/ave, to finish first overall. Cornwall’s Claire Irons finished second with a 26.88 d/ave and Hampshire’s Jo Rolls, who re-joined the Hampshire squad three games into the season, claimed third with a 26.81 d/ave and without dropping a leg!

Congratulations and thank you to all the players, supporters and officials who have helped to make this season so successful! 

Full divisional results are available on the BDO website!