Williams and Sherrock do the double in Bruges!

Both the Cuesoul Belfry and Bruges Open were dominated this weekend by Jim Williams and Fallon Sherrock. Playing in some testing conditions, they battled through a tough field to take both titles this weekend.

Saturday’s Men’s Belfry Open final saw Williams overcome a home-favourite, Mario Vandenbogaerde, in straight sets. The Belgian had beaten number 11 seed, Derk Telnekes (Netherlands) 2-1 in his semi-final, whilst Williams saw off Surrey’s Dave Parletti his semi-final, 2 sets to 0. 

In the Ladies Belfry Open, Sherrock reached the final with victories over Carine Dessin (Belguim), Deana Rosenblom (Sweden), Corrine Hammond (Australia) and Priscilla Steenbergen (Netherlands), before beating Netherlands Aileen de Graaf 2 sets to 1 in the final. De Graaf secured a close 4-3 win over Casey Gallagher in the quarter-finals, before beating team mate, and last year’s champion, Sharon Prins 5-4 in the semi’s. 

Williams’ quarter-final match in the Bruges Open saw a repeat of Saturday’s final, against Mario Vandenbogaerde, which Williams won 5-3, before facing another Belgian local, Niels Vanbergan in the semis. Williams won in straight sets to secure his place in the final against Dean Reynolds, who had seen off challenges from the number 2 seed Wesley Harms (Netherlands) and Michael Busscher (Netherlands) in the quarters and semis respectively. In the final, the first three sets all went with throw, and with Williams leading 2-1, he broke Reynolds to win 3-1 in sets overall. 

It was a case of déjá vu as Sherrock and de Graaf both progressed through to the finals of Sunday’s Ladies Bruges Open. Sherrock had a close semi-final, going 3-0 down to England’s Deta Hedman, but coming through to win 5-4 in a tight deciding leg. De Graaf had to again face Sharon Prins in her semi, winning 5-3, however Sherrock’s continued form saw her edge the current WDT trophy title holder out of the final 2 sets to 0.

The winners of the girl’s and boy’s youth tournaments also did the double this year. Daan Bastiaansen of the Netherlands achieved 5-1 victories twice over fellow Dutchman Rene Molendijk in both the Belfry and Bruges Open finals. The Dutch also dominated in the girl’s tournament, with Layla Brussel taking 4-0 victories over Romy Vermeulen (Netherlands) and Lynn Hoekstra (Netherlands) to win both titles. 

Full results can be found at http://www.sterkdarts.nl/