The 2018 England National Singles and England Open

2018 England National Singles and England Open 

Another successful weekend at Bunn Leisure, where England Darts hosted the England National Singles and the England Open, offering over a £35,000 prize fund and a wealth of BDO ranking points. The big names were out in force, all competing to be the next champion, including current and former World Champions, World Masters and World Dart Trophy Winners!

England National Singles

Friday’s National Singles saw Martin C Atkins, Paul Hogan, Scott Mitchell and Dave Parletti all battle through a tough field to secure their places in Saturday’s semi-finals. Atkins was first up to face Berkshire and England’s Paul Hogan, winning 5-2 to claim his place in the final. Mitchell, the reigning National Singles Champion, had a close encounter with Surrey’s Dave Parletti, with every leg going with throw, and Mitchell holding on to win 5-4. Mitchell took the final to retain his title 6-3 over ‘The Assassin’ Atkins.

In the ladies’ tournament, Lorraine Winstanley, Anastasia Dobromyslova, Fallon Sherrock and Rhian Griffiths progressed into Saturdays semi-finals. Sherrock, on a quest to win her sixth consecutive title, saw off a strong challenge from Wales’s Griffiths to take their semi-final 4-2. Griffiths had earlier beaten last year’s Champion, Deta Hedman, who was looking for her third consecutive England National Singles title, in the last 64. Number one seed, Winstanley faced 2014 Champion Dobromyslova, and ‘From Russia with Love’ beat her pairs partner 4-2 to secure her place in the final. Sherrock narrowly edged out Dobromyslova 5 legs to 4 in a closely fought final to secure her sixth tournament win in a row!

England Open 

Richard Veenstra, Kyle McKinstry, Derk Telnekes and Ross Montgomery completed the semi-final line up for the prestigious Men’s England Open with wins over Jason Lovett, Lee Shewan, Scott Waites and Scott Baker respectively in the quarter finals. Northern Ireland Captain, McKinstry saw off Veenstra 5-2 to claim the first spot in the final, whilst Telnekes took a 5-3 win over Scotland’s Ross Montgomery. McKinstry continued the form he produced at the World Darts Trophy to take the title 6-0 over Telnekes, in a match where missed doubles proved to be costly for the Dutchman!

Fallon Sherrock couldn’t make it 7 straight tournament victories after an inspired performance from Roz Bulmer saw her winning streak come to an end in the last 16, before Bulmer was beaten by Pentathlon winner, Aileen de Graaf. De Graaf faced Deta Hedman in the semi-final, overcoming the England Captain 4-2, whilst the reigning England Open Champion Lorraine Winstanley faced 4-times World Champion, Lisa Ashton. Ashton also secured a 4-2 win, denying Winstanley the opportunity to retain the title. The final saw de Graaf narrowly edged out by Ashton 5-3, in another closely contested match!