March 18, 2019

THE BDO TORREMOLINOS FESTIVAL OF DARTS saw an influx of players head to the Sol Principe, Torremolinos. The event, now in its 40thyear, consisted of four ranked singles, as well as pairs and triples competitions.

Kicking off the action was the Mixed Triples, where Norfolk-based players Craig Venman, Sandra Page and Roger Berney progressed into the final to face Staffordshire trio Martin Wheawall, Samran Prometta and Allan Carrington. A close-run final saw the East-Anglians edge out eventual winners 3-2 to take the first title of the tournament.

The Dutch pairing of Jac Proosten and Kay Smeets faced Lee Stanley and Robert Hawker in the Men’s Pairs final. Stanley and Hawker had earlier beaten Jamie Nunez and Dyson Parody 3-1, whilst Proosten and Smeets had the same winning scoreline over Francisco Moreno and Toni Munroe. More confident play from Stanley and Hawker saw them runout 3-1 winners over Proosten and Smeets.

Grace Crane and Anna Madigan became the 2019 Ladies Pairs Champions with a 3-1 win over Sofia De La Prada and Ramona Eriksen. De La Prada and Eriksen claimed their spot in the final with a 3-0 win over Linda Rowe and Janice Sumiga, whilst Crane and Madigan whitewashed the English pairing of Wendy Reader and Donna Gleed.

The Torremolinos Classic, a new addition to the 2019 tournament calendar, saw number one seed Wouter Vaes, England’s Nick Fullwell, Mixed Triples winner Craig Venman and Andrew Hibbert all make the last four. In the Ladies event, Lincolnshire Ladies Captain Paula Jacklin, Norway’s Ramona Eriksen, Essex A player Donna Gleed and Romania’s Andreaa Brad all made the semi-final stages.

Fullwell proved too strong for Dutch star Wouter Vaes, winning their semi-final clash 4-2 to move into his first BDO ranked final since winning the West Midlands Open back in August. Venman’s 4-1 win over Andrew Hibbert earmarked his best performance of the season, having previously missed out on a final spot at the 2018 Czech Open.

The all-England final went the distance, with Fullwell taking the last leg to claim the title 5-4 and move into the top 50 of the BDO World Rankings.

Jacklin and Gleed both progressed into the final of the inaugural Torremolinos Classic with wins over Eriksen and Brad respectively. Eriksen pushed Jacklin all the way, missing out 4-3, whilst Brad couldn’t quite find the consistency from earlier in the week and lost to Gleed 4-1.

In the final, Gleed took the initiative and quickly moved ahead, maintaining her composure throughout to take her first BDO ranked title 4-2 over Jacklin.

The semi-final stages of the Men’s Torremolinos Open saw four different players reach the Men’s last as Kay Smeets, Wayne Bloomfield, John Scott and Thibault Tricole all qualified for finals day. The Ladies event saw 2018 titleholder Paula Jacklin progress alongside Jennifer Donaghy, Grace Crane and Donna Gleed.

Smeets edged past Wayne Bloomfield by four legs to three, where he would face France’s Thibault Tricole, who beat Middlesex’s John Scott 4-1. Tricole found an extra gear in the final to win his first BDO ranked title with a 90.53 three-dart average and a 5-1 win over Smeets.

Northern Ireland’s Donaghy narrowly missed out on a place in the final as she led Jacklin 3-0 in their final, only for Jacklin to dig deep and fight back to win the first semi-final 4-3.

Gleed denied Crane the chance for a second title of the week as she stormed into the final with a 4-0 win over the Northern Ireland International, keeping her own hopes of a double alive.

With a repeat line-up of the earlier Classic final, a determined Jacklin turned the tables and managed to retain the Torremolinos Open title with a 4-1 win over Gleed.


2019 Torremolinos Festival of Darts Role of Honour:


Mixed Triples- Craig Venman, Sandra Page and Roger Berney

Ladies Pairs- Grace Crane and Anna Madigan

Men’s Pairs - Lee Stanley and Robert Hawker

Ladies Classic– Donna Gleed

Men’s Classic– Nick Fullwell

Ladies Open– Paula Jacklin

Men’s Open– Thibault Tricole


Full results can be found here


Photos - Nick Fullwell and Paula Jacklin - All image rights copyrighted to @Prosportimages @chrisSarg1