BDO World Trophy Day One Results and Match Reports

Ross Montgomery (6) 6 vs 3 Daniel Day


A fantastic opening match between Scotland’s Ross Montgomery and England’s Dan Day sees Montgomery secure his place into the last 16 with an impressive 6-3 victory over Day, where he will face either Gary Robson or Ryan Hogarth!

Deta Hedman (3) 3 vs 4 Roz Bulmer (q)


Debutant Roz Bulmer looked unfazed during her match against the experienced Number 3 seed, England’s Deta Hedman. With every leg going with throw, Bulmer seized the advantage in the deciding leg and claimed her place in the last 8, with a shock 4-3 victory over Hedman.

Gary Robson (11) 3 vs 6 Ryan Hogarth (q)


Ryan Hogarth becomes the second qualifier to progress into the next round, beating 11th seed, Gary Robson 6-3. With Robson sat on 24 in the sixth leg, Hogarth checked out an impressive 170 finish to break Robson’s throw and go 4-2 ahead. Missed darts from Robson saw Hogarth hold his throw in the seventh and ninth legs and secure his last 16 place against fellow Scotsman, Ross Montgomery.

Sharon Prins (6) 4 vs 1 Tricia Wright  


The second ladies match of the evening sees number 6 seed Sharon Prins take a 4-1 win over England’s Tricia Wright. Wright missed darts at double in the second leg and Prins capitalised to go 2-0 ahead. Despite Wright taking the third, Prins proved too strong, taking the fifth and final leg in 15 darts to ensure she remains firmly in the tournament.

Kyle McKinstry (14) 6 vs 3 Jon Worsley


A high-quality battle between Northern Ireland’s Kyle McKinstry and Welsh qualifier Jon Worsley in this evening’s fifth game. At 4-3, with Worsley sat on 32, McKinstry managed the first break of the match with a 12-dart leg and a 126 finish. McKinstry held his throw in the ninth leg to win 6-3 with a 99.18 average overall.

Scott Mitchell (3) 6 vs 2  Pengiran Mohamed


Asian qualifier, Pengiran Mohamed came flying out of the blocks to take the first leg from Scott Mitchell against the throw in 15 darts, but with the legs tied at 2-2, the 2015 World Champion found an extra gear to take the next four legs and win 6-2. Mitchell’s win will see him face Kyle McKinstry in the last 16.

Aileen de Graaf (2) 3 vs 4 Maria O’Brien


The final ladies match of the opening round between reigning WDT Champion, Aileen de Graaf and England International Maria O’Brien didn’t disappoint! Despite two ton-plus finishes from de Graaf, consistent scoring and accurate finishing from O’Brien saw her claim the match 4-3 taking the seventh leg in 17 darts. O’Brien’s next round will be either Fallon Sherrock or Rhian Griffiths.

James Hurrell (10) 3 vs 6 Peter Machin


Peter Machin, the current Men’s WDT Champion progresses through to the second round with a 6-3 victory over James ‘Hillbilly’ Hurrell. Machin seemed to settle into his rhythm quickly, taking the third and fourth legs in 13 and 12 darts respectively, but Hurrell dug deep to level the match at 3-3. However missed chances at doubles saw Machin take the final three legs and keeps him in the running to retain his title.