October 04, 2018

The British Darts Organisation is pleased to announce that the following players will be invited to compete at the 2019 BDO World Professional Darts Championships.

The two men that gave us all a true “Lakeside Classic” in the 2018 final top the BDO invitational rankings table, with ‘Gladiator’ Mark McGeeney at No.1, ahead of the double-defending BDO World Champion, ‘Duzza’ Glen Durrant.  Following an impressive season on the circuit, former World Cup Singles champion ‘the Quiff’ Jim Williams is in third place on the seeding list, with twice Lakeside semi finalist ‘Sparky’ Wesley Harms seeded fourth.

The 16 seeds for the men’s competition include two former BDO World Champions, ‘Scotty Dog’ Scott Mitchell and ‘Scotty 2 Hotty’ Scott Waites. Last year’s surprise semi finalist, ‘T-Rex’ Michael Unterbuchner returns seeded 5, with familiar faces ‘Big Robbo’ Gary Robson, ‘the Boss’ Ross Montgomery and Welsh legend Martin Phillips also amongst the seeds.  Having recently won both British Classic and British Open titles, ‘Flyers’ Richard Veenstra is seeded 8, while Dave Parletti qualifies as the highest ranked debutant, seeded 11.


1 – Mark McGeeney (Eng)

2 – Glen Durrant (Eng)

3 – Jim Williams (Wal)

4 – Wesley Harms (Ned)

5 – Michael Unterbuchner (Ger)

6 – Scott Mitchell (Eng)

7 – Gary Robson (Eng)

8 – Richard Veenstra (Ned)

9 – Scott Waites (Eng)

10 – Chris Landman (Ned)

11 – Dave Parletti (Eng)

12 – Wayne Warren (Wal)

13 – Willem Mandigers (Ned)

14 – Daniel Day (Eng)

15 – Ross Montgomery (Sco)

16 – Martin Phillips (Wal)

Eight more players (ranked 17-24) will be drawn directly into the first round. They include recent England Classic champion ‘the Village Man’ Kyle McKinstry, debuts for Belgium’s Jeffrey van Egdom and Wales’ Mark Layton, plus the return of a real fans favourite, the 3-time Lakeside finalist ‘Silverback’ Tony O’Shea.

17 – Kyle McKinstry (Nir)

18 – Scott Baker (Eng)

19 – Derk Telnekes (Ned)

20 – Tony O’Shea (Eng)

21 – Conan Whitehead (Eng)

22 – Dean Reynolds (Wal)

23 – Jeffrey van Egdom (Bel)

24 – Mark Layton (Wal)

A further 16 players will compete in the Preliminary Round.  They include the players ranked 25th and 26th, the 2018 Winmau World Masters champion (or the highest ranked player from the main BDO invitation table, not already qualified), the top player from the British Isles table ‘Crocodile Dundee’ Paul Hogan, plus the four qualifiers who have won through the BDO world championship playoffs in Bridlington.

25 – Wouter Vaes (Ned)

26 – Justin Thompson (Aus)

Winmau World Masters champion 2018 or standby player Wesley Newton (Eng)

British Isles regional rankings qualifier – Paul Hogan (Eng)

BDO qualifier – Andy Hamilton (Eng)

BDO qualifier – Nigel Heydon (Eng)

BDO qualifier – Ryan Hogarth (Sco)

BDO qualifier – Krzysztof Kciuk (Pol)

These players will be drawn into the Preliminary Round against eight international qualifiers. The winners of the Asian qualifying tournament and leading player in the Darts Australia Grand Prix will be joined at Lakeside by the players who each top their BDO regional rankings tables.

Asian qualifier – TBC

Australian qualifier – TBC

Baltic/Scandinavian qualifier – Brian Løkken (Den)

Canadian qualifier – David Cameron (Can)

Eastern European qualifier – Oliver Ferenc (Ser)

New Zealand qualifier – Mark McGrath (Nzl)

USA qualifier – Jim Widmayer (USA)

Western European qualifier – Roger Janssen (Bel)

Invitations will also be issued for the 2019 Women’s World Championship and the BDO rankings are topped by the 2017 Winmau World Masters champion, Lorraine Winstanley, who will be appearing as the No.1 seed for the first time, ahead of the reigning 4-time Lakeside World Champion, ‘the Lancashire Rose’ Lisa Ashton.

They will be part of a truly world class field, with the list of seeds featuring triple finalist ‘the Heart of Darts’ Deta Hedman, 3-time former champion ‘from Russia with Love’ Anastasia Dobromyslova, BDO World Trophy champions past and present, Aileen de Graaf and Fallon Sherrock, twice Lakeside semi finalist ‘Racing Angel’ Sharon Prins and returning for her 19th consecutive appearance, the legendary 10-time Lakeside Champion ‘the Golden Girl’ Trina Gulliver MBE.

1 – Lorraine Winstanley (Eng)

2 – Lisa Ashton (Eng)

3 – Deta Hedman (Eng)

4 – Anastasia Dobromyslova (Rus)

5 – Aileen de Graaf (Ned)

6 – Fallon Sherrock (Eng)

7 – Sharon Prins (Ned)

8 – Trina Gulliver MBE (Eng)

The un-seeded players (ranked 9-13) include the 2017 runner up, Australia’s Corrine Hammond, plus English debutant Roz Bulmer. They will be joined by the 2018 Winmau World Masters champion (or the highest ranked player from the main BDO invitation table, not already qualified). In addition, the two qualifiers from the BDO playoffs in Bridlington mean that the nations of Japan and Poland will be represented in the women’s World Championship for the first time.

9 – Corrine Hammond (Aus)

10 – Maria O’Brien (Eng)

11 – Casey Gallagher (Eng)

12 – Roz Bulmer (Eng)

13 – Paula Jacklin (Eng)

Winmau World Masters champion 2018 or standby player Laura Turner (Eng)

BDO qualifier – Karolina Podgorska (Pol)

BDO qualifier – Mikuru Suzuki (Jpn)

Along with the 40 men and the 16 ladies invited to compete at the BDO World Championships in January 2019, there will be two youth players contesting their own final.  England’s Leighton Bennett will face the 2017 runner up, Scotland’s Nathan Girvan.

The 42nd BDO World Professional Darts Championships takes place from Saturday 5th to Sunday 13th January 2019. Venue, ticket and broadcast information will be announced soon.