October 25, 2018

MARK McGeeney was in top form this week, as he claimed victories in the Turkish Open, Turkish Masters and the Turkish Open Men’s pairs.

Playing at the Limak Limra Resort, Kemer, McGeeney paired up with fellow Englishman Scott Mitchell to take the Men’s pairs title 4-0 over Wesley Harms and Debney Erauw. The English pairing didn’t hang around, not only winning in straight legs but recording a 95.43 average in the process.

Mitchell and McGeeney were soon pitted against each other in the Turkish Master’s final, which McGeeney took 5-1 with a 95.40 average. Losing semi-finalists in the Men’s Masters were Dutch players Wesley Harms and Derk Telnekes, who narrowly missed out on a final spot earlier in the week.

The final match of the day was contested by McGeeney and Harms, in a battle for the Men’s Turkish Open crown; McGeeney maintained the form he had shown all week to make a clean sweep of finals days and win 6-2 over the number three seed. ‘The Gladiator’ claimed his place in the final with a 5-2 win over Derk Telnekes in the semis, whilst Harms beat Northern Ireland’s Darren Clifford, who despite a timely 170 checkout, missed out on a final spot 5 legs to 3.

The Ladies Turkish Masters title was retained by Dutch ace Aileen de Graaf, who saw off a strong challenge by reigning World Champion Lisa Ashton 4-3. De Graaf had beaten the ‘Golden Girl’, Trina Gulliver MBE in the semi-finals, whilst Ashton had claimed victory 4-2 over Paula Jacklin.

In a repeat of the Ladies Master’s final, de Graaf faced Ashton in her attempt to repeat her 2017 success and claim another double victory in Turkey. Ashton, however, took an early break and beat de Graaf 5-3 to take the title. In the semi-finals, Ashton took a comfortable victory over Laura Turner, with a 92.49 average, whilst de Graaf beat Gulliver MBE 4-1.

The Ladies pairs final saw Trina Gulliver MBE and Paula Jacklin face Staffordshire’s Samran Prommetta and Anne Allsop. In a closely fought match, the experience of Gulliver MBE and Jacklin held out and they took the 2018 title 4-1.