January 05, 2020

The afternoon session opened with a marathon contest, Wayne Warren and Justin Thompson taking
us all the way into a deciding set. Welshman Warren was a quarter-finalist in 2018 and will be
looking to replicate that run after a disjointed year on the tour. After an up and down match, ‘The
Yank’ sealed glory with a spectacular 120 checkout.

It was a similar story in the second match of the afternoon session as Ben Hazel was pegged back
and pushed into a decider by Tennessee native Joe Chaney. After originally building a 2-0 lead,
Hazel surrendered the next two sets as we went into a decider. But the Hertfordshire showed his
class, securing a win on debut at the o2 Indigo.

In the final men’s match of an elongated afternoon session Michael Unterbuchner put pay to
Willem Mandigers chances for a second year running. The German defeated Mandigers in the
quarter-finals of last years event, but despite seeing the second 170 checkout of the tournament in
set one from the Dutchman, ‘T-Rex’ stayed steady to secure victory.

There were wins elsewhere for Aileen de Graaf and Laura Turner in the women’s section of the
draw, de Graaf coming from a set down to defeat Kirsty Hutchinson on her World Championship

Turner secured her first victory on the World Championship stage in dramatic fashion against
multiple time finalist Deta Hedman. After a nervy opening set, Turner found her scoring game in
set two, punishing her experienced opponent on the outer ring to book her return to the Indigo later
this week.

In arguably the performance of the day, veteran campaigner Paul Hogan defeated Belgium’s Brian
Raman. British Isles qualifier Hogan nailed a 158 in a routine victory over the first time competitor.

World Masters champion John O’Shea bowed out of the competition as he was far from his best
against Andreas Harrysson of Sweden. Harrysson sprinted into a 2-0 advantage, but the Irishman
showed tremendous grit to turn the tide and take the match to a decider. But it was not to be for
‘The Joker’ as Harrysson cleaned up in the final set to record a debut victory on the Indigo stage.

Martijn Kleermaker brought the days action to an end with a magnificent scoring display, five
maximums, and at one point six perfect darts blowing away fellow Dutchman Gino Vos as the pair
made their maiden bows on the Indigo stage.

‘The Dutch Giant’ ended the match with a 93.28 average, laying down a marker for all the title
challenges, as he produced one of the standout performances of the tournament so far.

Wayne Warren 3-2 Justin Thompson
Ben Hazel 3-2 Joe Chaney
Aileen de Graaf 2-1 Kirsty Hutchinson
Michael Unterbuchner 3-1 Willem Mandigers

Andreas Harrysson 3-2 John O’Shea
Laura Turner 2-0 Deta Hedman
Paul Hogan 3-1 Brian Raman
Martijn Kleermaker 3-0 Gino Vos

Picture's by Tip Top Pic's